• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share


Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria (PACCARB)


The following individuals serve as members on the Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria:


Designated Federal Officer: Jomana F. Musmar, MS, PhD

Committee Manager
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC

Voting Members

Voting members are Special Government Employees and are subject to conflict of interest laws and regulations.


Martin J. Blaser, MD

Henry Rutgers Chair of the Human Microbiome
Professor of Medicine and Microbiology – RWJMS
Director, Center for Advanced Biotechnology and Medicine
Rutgers University
Piscataway, NJ

Four Year Term

Michael D. Apley, DVM, PhD, DACVCP

Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences
Kansas State University
College of Veterinary Medicine
Manhattan, KS

Four Year Term

Helen W. Boucher, MD, FIDSA, FACP

Chief, Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases
Director, Tufts Center for Integrated Management of Antimicrobial Resistance (CIMAR)
Director, Heart Transplant and Ventricular Assist Device Infectious Diseases Program
Professor of Medicine
Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA

Four Year Term

Angela Caliendo, MD, PhD, FIDSA

Professor and Executive Vice Chair of Medicine Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine
Alpert Medical School
Brown University
Providence, RI

Four Year Term

Alicia R. Cole

Alliance for Safety Awareness for Patients (ASAP)
Sherman Oaks, CA

Four Year Term

Sara E. Cosgrove, MD, MS

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology
Division of Infectious Diseases, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Director, Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Antimicrobial Stewardship
Baltimore, MD

Three Year Term

Paula Fedorka-Cray, MS, PhD

Professor and Department Head
Population Health and Pathobiology
College of Veterinary Medicine
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC

Four Year Term


Lonnie J. King, DVM, MS, MPA, DACVPM

Professor and Dean Emeritus
College of Veterinary Medicine
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Three Year Term

Christine Ginocchio, PhD, MT (ASCP)

Vice President
Global Medical Affairs
NC and BioFire Diagnostics, UT

Four Year Term

Locke Karriker, DVM, MS, DACVPM

Professor and Interim Chair, VDPAM
Director, Swine Medicine Education Center
Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine (VDPAM)
Iowa State University
Ames, IA

Four Year Term


Vice President and Head, Translational
Science and Biomarkers
Sanofi Pasteur
Swiftwater, PA

Three Year Term

Ramanan Laxminarayan, PhD, MPH

Director and Senior Fellow
Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics and Policy
Washington, DC

Four Year Term

Aileen M. Marty, MD, FACP

Professor, Infectious Diseases
Department of Medicine, Family Medicine, and Community Health
Director, Health Travel Medicine Program and Vaccine Clinic
Florida International University
Miami, FL

Four Year Term

Robert A. Weinstein, MD

The C. Anderson Hedberg, MD Professor of Internal Medicine
Rush University Medical Center
Chairman Emeritus, Department of Medicine
Cook County Health and Hospitals System
Chicago, IL

Four Year Term

David White, MS, PhD

Associate Dean for Research
Professor of Food Science
Department of Agriculture Research
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN

Four Year Term

Representative Members

National Turkey Federation

Designated Representative:
Alice L. Johnson, DVM
Washington, DC

Association for Public Health Laboratories

Designated Representative:
Denise M. Toney, PhD
Washington, DC

American Nurses Association

Designated Representative:
Elaine Larson, PhD, RN
Silver Spring, MD

North American Meat Institute

Designated Representative:
Tiffany Lee, DVM, PhD, MS
Washington, DC

The Pew Charitable Trusts

Designated Representative:
Kathryn L. Talkington
Washington, DC

Regular Government Employees

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service
Jeffrey Silverstein, PhD
Deputy Administrator
Animal Production and Protection
Office of National Programs
Washington, DC

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Sarah M. Tomlinson, DVM
Executive Director, Strategy and Policy
Veterinary Services
Fort Collins, CO

Food Safety and Inspection Service
Emilio Esteban, DVM, MBA, MPVM, PhD
Chief Scientist
Office of Public Health Science
Washington, DC

U.S. Department of Defense

Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Paige Waterman, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Translational Medicine
Bethesda, MD

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Rima Khabbaz, MD
Director, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
Acting Director, Office of Infectious Diseases
Acting CDC Deputy Director, Infectious Diseases
Atlanta, GA

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Shari Ling, MD
Deputy Chief Medical Officer
Center for Clinical Standards and Quality
Baltimore, MD

National Institutes of Health
Dennis M. Dixon, PhD
Chief, Bacteriology and Mycology Branch
Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Rockville, MD

Office of Global Affairs
Lawrence D. Kerr, PhD
Office of Pandemics and Emerging Threats
Washington, DC

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Christopher Houchens, PhD
Director (Acting), Division of CBRN Countermeasures
Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority
Washington, DC

U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Daniel W. Sigelman, JD
Senior Advisor
Office of Public Health Strategy and Analysis
Office of the Commissioner
Silver Spring, MD

Advisory Council Staff

Jennifer Adona
Capital Consulting Corporation
Rockville, MD

Mark Kazmierczak, PhD
Gryphon Scientific
Takoma Park, MD

Haley Krem
Gryphon Scientific
Takoma Park, MD

Bralen Lamoureux, MS
ORISE Fellow
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington, DC


Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed on February 19, 2020