• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share

About Us

Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria (PACCARB)

The rise of antibiotic-resistant bacteria represents a serious threat to public health and the economy. Detecting, preventing, and controlling antibiotic resistance requires a strategic, coordinated, and sustained effort. The federal government will work domestically and internationally to detect, prevent, and control illness and death related to antibiotic-resistant infections by implementing measures that reduce the emergence and spread of antibiotic-resistant bacteria and help ensure the continued availability of effective therapeutics for the treatment of bacterial infections.

The PACCARB provides advice, information, and recommendations to the Secretary regarding programs and policies intended to support and evaluate the implementation of U.S. government activities related to combating antibiotic-resistant bacteria.

In 2019, PACCARB was codified into legislation through the PAHPAIA.

The PACCARB consists of 30 members, including 15 voting members that are special government employees, 5 non-voting liaison members representing their respective organizations, and 10 Regular Government Employees representing HHS, and the Departments of Defense (DoD) and Agriculture (USDA). The members are supported by a Designated Federal Official and other staff members within HHS. The Advisory Council may establish standing and ad hoc working groups to provide assistance for carrying out its function. All reports and recommendations prepared by the working groups must be deliberated and voted on by the PACCARB.

The PACCARB will be governed by provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, Public Law 92-463, as amended (5 U.S.C. App.), which sets forth standards for the formation and use of federal advisory committees.

PACCARB organizational chartRead the charter to understand the duties, membership designations, and other details related to the Advisory Council.

Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed on October 2, 2019