NVAC Members

Members of the National Vaccine Advisory Committee (NVAC) serve a pivotal role by providing peer review, consultation, advice, and recommendations to the Assistant Secretary for Health, who serves as the Director of the National Vaccine Program on matters related to the Program's responsibilities.

Current Voting Members

NVAC consists of 17 voting members, including the Chair, who are appointed to serve as public members. Two of these members are designated to serve as official representatives of the vaccine manufacturing industry. The voting members are selected from individuals who are engaged in vaccine research or the manufacture of vaccines, or who are physicians, members of parent organizations concerned with immunizations, representatives of state or local health agencies or public health organizations.

Voting members are Special Government Employees and are subject to conflict of interest laws and regulations.

NVAC Chair: Robert H. Hopkins, Jr., MD

NVAC Chair: Robert H. Hopkins, Jr., MD
TERM: 9/7/21 to 9/6/24
NVAC's Chair, Robert H. Hopkins, Jr., is professor of internal medicine and pediatrics and director of the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) in Little Rock, AR. He is also associate program director of the UAMS internal medicine-pediatrics combined residency and Chief of Adult Medicine at Arkansas Children's Hospital. Read more about our current NVAC Chair.

Melody Anne Butler, RN, BSN
TERM: 9/7/21 to 9/6/24

Tim Cooke, PhD (Representative)
TERM: 3/9/2020 to 3/8/2023

Jeffrey Duchin, MD
TERM: 2/10/22 to 2/9/26

John Dunn, MD, MPH
TERM: 2/8/2020 to 2/7/2023

Kristen Ehresmann, RN, MPH
TERM: 6/8/2020 to 6/7/2024

David Fleming, MD
TERM: 3/8/2020 to 3/7/2023

Leonard Friedland, MD (Representative)
TERM: 2/8/20 to 2/7/2023

Daniel F. Hoft, MD, PhD
TERM: 6/8/20 to 6/7/2024

Molly Howell, MPH
TERM: 2/12/2020 to 2/11/2024

Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH, BA
TERM: 2/10/22 to 2/9/26

Stephen Rinderknecht, DO
TERM: 2/10/22 to 2/9/26

Robert Schechter, MD, MSc
TERM: 2/12/2020 to 2/11/2024

Winona Stoltzfus, MD
TERM: 2/10/22 to 2/9/26

Geeta Swamy, MD
TERM: 9/7/21 to 9/6/24

Robert Swanson, MPH
TERM: 6/8/2020 to 6/7/2024

Liaison Representatives

NVAC also has representatives from non-federal entities, including state and local health agencies or public health organizations that are engaged in and/or have interest in vaccine research, the manufacture of vaccines, and immunizations.

The liaison representatives are non-voting members of the advisory council. They are not government employees and are therefore not subject to federal ethics regulations.

Ex-Officio Members

Individuals representing federal organizations on NVAC serve as ex-officio, nonvoting members and play a liaison representative role on the committee.

Federal ex-officio members are regular Government Employees and are therefore subject to ethics regulations issued by the U.S. Office of Government Ethics, including annual confidential financial disclosure and ethics training.


Designated Federal Officer

NVAC Designated Federal Official: Ann Aikin, MA

Ann Aikin is with the Office of Infectious Disease and HIV/AIDS Policy at HHS.

Content created by Office of Infectious Disease and HIV/AIDS Policy (OIDP)
Content last reviewed