Announcement of New Members

Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria (PACCARB)


The Secretary has appointed the following voting members to serve on the Advisory Council for term beginning January 29, 2019.

New voting members:

Paula Fedorka-Cray, MS, PhD; Professor and Department Head, Population Health and Pathobiology, College of Veterinary Medicine, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC

Dr. Fedorka-Cray is recognized nationally and internationally for her contributions to the study of antimicrobial resistance of foodborne and commensal bacteria in food animals, with a focus on the development and harmonization of antimicrobial resistance surveillance systems.  She directed the animal arm of the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS) from its inception in 1997 through 2012 and co-created and directed the United States Department of Agriculture VetNet (PulseNet equivalent) from 2003-2014.  Dr. Fedorka-Cray has received numerous honors and awards including the USDA ARS South Atlantic Area Senior Scientist of the Year in 2007 and two awards from the United States Food and Drug Administration, in 2012 and 2014, for her work with NARMS.  She has received over 200 invitations to present her work throughout her career, including two presentations at the National Academy of Sciences.  She has authored or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles, and her work has been highlighted in several newspapers and other media. She was featured in a Discovery Channel video entitled “Poisons II,” a 20-minute segment on antimicrobial resistance, in 1999.  She has also served on expert panels for the World Health Organization including the Advisory Group on Integrated Surveillance of Antimicrobial Resistance (AGISAR) where she mentors several international antimicrobial resistance surveillance projects.  Her current research focuses on the global ecology and impact of antimicrobial resistance from a One Health perspective. She is an active participant in the WHO integrated global survey on ESBL-producing E. coli using a One Health approach, “The Tricycle Project.”  Dr. Fedorka-Cray has been appointed to serve a four-year term.

Term: 01/29/2019 - 01/29/2023

Christine Ginocchio, PhD, MT (ASCP); Vice President, Global Medical Affairs, bioMerieux, NC and BioFire Diagnostics, UT

Dr. Ginocchio is an internationally recognized expert in the science, medicine, and policies of diagnostic technology.  She has been the principal investigator for more than 60 industry and pharmaceutical clinical trials that include 21 studies of in vitro diagnostic devices for US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) clearance.  Dr. Ginocchio has been an invited speaker at over 250 national and international conferences related to diagnostics.  Dr. Ginocchio also serves as Professor of Medicine at Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra Northwell, NY. She has developed an outstanding reputation as an expert in infectious disease diagnostics with over 40 years of experience in laboratory medicine and diagnostic development.  Dr. Ginocchio was the Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Clinical Virology from 2006-2018 and the recipient of the ASM BD award for Research in Clinical Microbiology and the PASCV award for Diagnostic Virology. Dr. Ginocchio has been pivotal in the development of IDSA diagnostics policies, serving on its Diagnostics Task Force, authoring several major IDSA publications, including the “Better Tests, Better Care: Improved Diagnostics for Infectious Diseases” and “Maintaining Life-saving Testing for Patients with Infectious Diseases: Infectious Diseases Society of America, American Society for Microbiology, and Pan American Society for Clinical Virology Recommendations on the Regulation of Laboratory-developed Tests.”  Dr. Ginocchio has been appointed to serve a four-year term.

Term: 01/29/2019 - 01/29/2023

Locke Karriker, DVM, MS, DACVPM; Dr. Douglas and Ann Gustafson Professor for Teaching Excellence in Veterinary Medicine and Director, Swine Medicine Education Center, Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Ames, Iowa

Dr. Locke Karriker is a Professor in the Department of Veterinary Diagnostic and Production Animal Medicine (VDPAM).  His position is a mix of teaching, research and professional practice activities focused on improving and advancing swine medicine and the judicious use of antimicrobial therapy.  This includes serving as Director of the Swine Medicine Education Center (SMEC) which has taught swine medicine to students from 31 universities globally, provides an average of 98,054 student contact hours annually, and has impacted approximately 52% of the national swine herd through research collaboration, co-hosted student interns, professional veterinary practice, professional program instruction and diagnostic consultation. He developed and teaches the only food animal focused pharmacology clinical rotation course in the United States.  Dr. Karriker is active on national committees committed to the judicious use of antimicrobials including the Pharmaceutical Issues Committee of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians and the Producer, Public Health and Workplace Safety Committee of the National Pork Board.  Dr. Karriker is one of the editors of the essential swine medicine reference book, Diseases of Swine (10th and 11th editions) and is the lead author of the “Drug Pharmacology, Therapy and Prophylaxis” chapter.  His research activities are focused on swine disease diagnosis and treatment especially advancing knowledge on pharmacology and welfare, further characterizing disease conditions, and assessing new intervention strategies.  Dr. Karriker has been appointed to serve a four-year term.

Term: 01/29/2019 - 01/29/2023

David White, MS, PhD; Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Food Science, AgResearch, University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture, Knoxville, TN

Dr. David White currently is an Associate Dean for Research and Associate Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station at the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture. He previously served in several positions in the U.S. Food and Drug Administration including Chief Science Officer/Research Director for the Office of Foods and Veterinary Medicine, Director of the Office of Research at FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine as well as past Director of the National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System (NARMS). Dr. White served as the co-chair of the U.S. Interagency Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance as well as the U.S. Delegate to the Codex Ad Hoc Intergovernmental Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance. He is a past member of the Ad hoc group on Antimicrobial Resistance, Office International des Epizooties (OIE), Paris, France, editor of the book “Frontiers in Antibiotic Resistance”, ASM Press, Washington D.C. and is on the editorial board of Foodborne Pathogens and Disease. Dr. White has worked extensively across federal agencies, international organizations and academia to coordinate antimicrobial resistance issues, in particular harmonization of AMR surveillance systems and exploration of new metagenomics platforms. His current interests are focused on characterizing intersecting resistomes among animals, humans and the environment.  Dr. White has been appointed to serve a four-year term.

Term: 01/29/2019 - 01/29/2023

Current voting members:

Sara E. Cosgrove, MD, MS

Dr. Cosgrove has been re-appointed to serve an additional three-year term.

Term: 09/28/2018 - 09/28/2021


Dr. Kester has been re-appointed to serve an additional three-year term.

Term: 09/28/2018 - 09/28/2021

Lonnie J. King, DVM, MS, MPA, DACVPM

Dr. King has been re-appointed as Vice Chair to serve an additional three-year term.

Term: 09/28/2018 - 09/28/2021

Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed