HHS Leadership

Departmental leaders are among the most qualified public servants in the Federal Government. They are dedicated to ensuring the guidance and management necessary to support the health and well-being of the nation. Learn more about the Department's leadership:

Office of the Secretary Leaders

Position Name
Secretary Xavier Becerra
Chief of Staff Sean McCluskie
Acting Assistant Secretary for Administration (ASA) Cheryl Campbell
Acting Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources (ASFR) Norris Cochran
Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH) Rachel Levine
Acting Assistant Secretary for Legislation (ASL) Anne Tatem
Acting Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation/Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) Rebecca Haffajee
Acting Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR) Nikki Bratcher-Bowman
Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs (ASPA) Sarah Lovenheim
Acting Director, Office of Civil Rights (OCR) Robinsue Frohboese
Chair, Departmental Appeals Board (DAB) Constance B. Tobias
Acting General Counsel (OGC) Dan Barry
Director, Office of Global Affairs (OGA) Loyce Pace
Acting Inspector General (OIG) Christi Grimm
Chief Administrative Law Judge, Office of Medicare Hearings and Appeals (OMHA) McArthur Allen
National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) Micky Tripathi
Chief Information Officer (CIO) Perryn B. Ashmore
Director, Intergovernmental and External Affairs (IEA) Marvin Figueroa
Surgeon General Vivek Murthy

Operating Division Leaders

Position Name
Acting Assistant Secretary, Administration for Children and Families (ACF) JooYeun Chang
Acting Commissioner, Administration for Children, Youth and Families (ACYF) Amanda Barlow
Acting Commissioner, Administration for Native Americans (ANA) Michelle Sauve
Acting Assistant Secretary for Aging and Administrator, Administration for Community Living (ACL) Alison Barkoff
Acting Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) David Meyers
Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Rochelle Walensky
Acting Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Liz Richter
Acting Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Janet Woodcock
Acting Administrator, Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Diana Espinosa
Acting Director, Indian Health Service (IHS) Elizabeth Fowler
Director, National Institutes of Health (NIH) Francis Collins
Acting Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use and Administrator, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service (SAMHSA) Tom Coderre


Content created by Digital Communications Division (DCD)
Content last reviewed