What diseases are subject to Federal isolation and quarantine law?

By Executive Order of the President, federal isolation and quarantine are authorized for these communicable diseases:

  • Cholera
  • Diphtheria
  • Infectious tuberculosis
  • Plague
  • Smallpox
  • Yellow fever
  • Viral hemorrhagic fevers (like Ebola)
  • Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS, MERS, COVID-19)
  • Flu that can cause a pandemic

Learn more about Quarantine and Isolation.

Content created by Digital Communications Division (DCD)
Content last reviewed