Regional Network

The White House Initiative on Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders (WHIAANHPI) is charged with coordinating and supporting an existing Regional Network (RN) of federal officials who facilitate improved communication, engagement, and coordination between the federal government and Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AA and NHPI) communities throughout the United States.

The RN includes over 300 federal agency officials based in 10 federal regions. The RN seeks to build relationships between the federal government and AA and NHPI communities by coordinating outreach efforts and connecting community stakeholders with federal resources across regional offices.

If you would like to engage with your local RN leadership and receive updates on events and resources in your area, please email They would be happy to answer any of your questions or direct you to the right federal agency. The RN leadership looks forward to coordinating local and regional events and continuing to help AA and NHPI communities better understand, navigate, and engage with the federal government.

National Co-Chairs

Ben Raju

Ben Raju
Los Angeles District Office
U.S. Small Business Administration

Paul Chang

Paul Chang
Wage and Hour Division
U.S. Department of Labor


Region 1 | Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

Norman Eng – Boston, MA
U.S. Small Business Administration

Region 2 | New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands

Everett Lo – New York, NY
U.S. Social Security Administration

Region 3 |Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia

Emily Kessel – Washington, D.C.
Minority Business Development Agency

Region 4 |Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee

Glory Gervacio – Raleigh, NC
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Region 5 |Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin

Doug Nguyen – Chicago, IL
U.S. Social Security Administration

Region 6 |Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Audrina Lange – Little Rock, AR
U.S. Department of Labor-Wage and Hour Division

Lucia Garcia – Houston, TX
U.S. Department of Labor-Wage and Hour Division

Region 7 |Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska

Dave Hung – Kansas City, MO
U.S. Social Security Administration

Region 8 |Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming

Patricia McMahon – Denver, CO
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Region 9|Northern California

Thomas Szymanek – San Francisco, CA
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Region 9| Southwest: Arizona, Southern California and Nevada

Cherry Destura
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

Region 9|Hawai'i, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau

Hanako Wakatsuki-Chong
U.S. National Park Service

Region 10 |Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington

Steven Yim
U.S. Department of Labor – Wage and Hour Division

Davis Zhen
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Content created by Office for Civil Rights (OCR)
Content last reviewed