Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Return to Search

Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee

Guidance for the Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee.


Issued by: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Issue Date: January 30, 2020

The Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee (MEDCAC) was established to provide independent guidance and expert advice to CMS on specific clinical topics. The MEDCAC is used to supplement CMS' internal expertise and to allow an unbiased and current deliberation of "state of the art" technology and science.  The MEDCAC reviews and evaluates medical literature, reviews technology assessments, public testimony and examines data and information on the benefits, harms, and appropriateness of medical items and services that are covered under Medicare or that may be eligible for coverage under Medicare. The MEDCAC judges the strength of the available evidence and makes recommendations to CMS based on that evidence.

We select up to 100 experts in clinical and administrative medicine, biologic and physical sciences, public health administration, patient advocacy, health care data and information management and analysis, health care economics, and medical ethics to serve on the MEDCAC. We select no more than 15 members with knowledge specific to the topic in question to serve on the panel for each MEDCAC meeting.  We may recruit non-MEDCAC members who have relevant expertise to provide additional input to panel members and invite experts to make formal presentations to the MEDCAC for a particular meeting.  The panel meets in a public forum approximately 4-8 times over the life of the committee to review medical evidence for the topic under deliberation, listen to public testimony, and provide advice about the quality of the evidence.  

MEDCAC meetings are announced in the "Federal Register" and on CMS' website.  Our coverage website contains a guidance document entitled "Factors CMS Considers in Referring Topics to the Medicare Evidence Development & Coverage Advisory Committee"; the MEDCAC's charter, the 1998 "Federal Register" notice that established the MEDCAC (formerly known as the MCAC); the current roster of MEDCAC members; and other informational materials.


Important security information:

The Real ID Act, enacted in 2005, establishes minimum standards for the issuance of state-issued driver's licenses and identification (ID) cards. It prohibits Federal agencies from accepting an official driver's license or ID card from a state unless the Department of Homeland Security determines that the state is in compliance with the Real ID Act.

Beginning October 10, 2015, photo IDs (such as a valid driver's license) issued by a state or territory not in compliance with the Real ID Act will not be accepted as identification to enter Federal buildings. Visitors from these states/territories will need to provide alternative proof of identification (such as a valid passport) to gain entrance into CMS buildings.

The current list of states from which a Federal agency may accept driver's licenses for an official purpose is found at

HHS is committed to making its websites and documents accessible to the widest possible audience, including individuals with disabilities. We are in the process of retroactively making some documents accessible. If you need assistance accessing an accessible version of this document, please reach out to the

DISCLAIMER: The contents of this database lack the force and effect of law, except as authorized by law (including Medicare Advantage Rate Announcements and Advance Notices) or as specifically incorporated into a contract. The Department may not cite, use, or rely on any guidance that is not posted on the guidance repository, except to establish historical facts.