Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

Key Personnel

Key personnel in the Office of the General Counsel (OGC) provide in-depth leadership and management of HHS legal services across the nation.
 

William B. Schultz is the General Counsel of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Key personnel in OGC are listed in the following Divisions, Branches, and Regional Offices:


Immediate Office of the General Counsel Contact Information

  • General Counsel, William B. Schultz
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   William.Schultz@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Deputy General Counsel, Jeffrey S. Davis
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   Jeffrey.Davis@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Deputy General Counsel, Ken Choe
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   Ken.Choe@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Deputy General Counsel, Peggy Dotzel
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   Peggy.Dotzel@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Deputy General Counsel, David Horowitz
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   David.Horowitz@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Deputy General Counsel, Gia Lee
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   Gia.Lee@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Senior Advisor to the General Counsel, Anne Hall
    • Phone.......:   415-437-8181
    • Fax...........:   415-437-8188
    • E-mail.......:   Anne.Hall@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 4-435G, Washington, DC 20201

  • Senior Advisor to the General Counsel, Elizabeth Gianturco
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7741
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:   Elizabeth.Gianturco@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, DC 20201

  • Director, Special Projects, Naomi J. Miske
    • Phone.......:   202-260-1809
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7998
    • E-mail.......:  Naomi.Miske@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 713-F, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Director, Office of Legal Resources, Cheryl Ziegler Ragland
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7705
    • Fax...........:   202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......:  Cheryl.ZieglerRagland@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 737F, Washington, DC 20201

  • Director of Finance, Buddy Frye
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7705
    • Fax...........:   202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......:   Buddy.Frye@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 737F, Washington, DC 20201

  • Director, Information Technology, Behrooz Sabet
    • Phone.......:   202-260-1798
    • Fax...........:   202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......:   Behrooz.Sabet@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 737F, Washington, DC 20201

  • Director, Management Policy, Raquel Boone
    • Phone.......:  202-205-8322
    • Fax...........:  202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......:  Raquel.Boone@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 737F, Washington, DC 20201

  • Program Communication Specialist, Tracey Thomas
    • Phone.......:   202-690-7261
    • Fax...........:   202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......:   Tracey.Thomas@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 737F, Washington, DC 20201

View the biographies of past Key Personnel in the Archive of Former General Counsels.

top of page


General Law Division Staff Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel, General Law Division, Daniel Barry
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0150
    • Fax...........:   202-619-2922
    • E-mail.......:   Daniel.Barry@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  330 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 5362, Washington, DC 20201

  • Acting Deputy Associate General Counsel, General Law Division, Procurement, Fiscal and Information Law Branch, Patricia Mantoan
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0168
    • E-mail.......:  Patricia.Mantoan@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  330 Independence Avenue, Washington, D.C. 20201

  • Acting Deputy Associate General Counsel, General Law Division, Claims and Employment Law Branch, William Biglow
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0171
    • E-mail.......:   William.Biglow@HHS.GOV
    • Location....:   330 Independence Avenue, Washington, D.C. 20201

top of page


Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Division Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel, Immediate Office, Janice L. Hoffman
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0300
    • E-mail.......:   Janice.Hoffman@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Ave., SW, Room 5309, Washington, DC 20201

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Litigation Branch, Susan Lyons
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0300
    • E-mail.......:  Susan.Lyons@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Ave., SW, Room 5300, Washington, DC

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Program Review Branch, Barbara H. Fisher
    • Phone.......:   410-786-1403
    • E-mail.......:   Barbara.Fisher@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   7500 Security Blvd., Room C2-05-23, Baltimore, Md 21244

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Program Integrity Branch, Janet Nolan
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0300
    • E-mail.......:  janet.nolan@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Ave., SW, Room 5326, Washington, DC

top of page


Children, Family and Aging Division Staff Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel, Robert E. Keith
    • Phone.......:   202-690-8005
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7320
    • E-mail.......:   Robert.Keith@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 4280-Cohen Bldg.,Washington, DC 20201

  • Chief, Litigation Branch, William Rivera
    • Phone.......:   202-690-8005
    • Fax...........:   202-690-7320
    • E-mail.......:   William.Rivera@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 4280-Cohen Bldg, Washington, DC 20201

top of page


Civil Rights Division Staff Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel for the Civil Rights Division, Edwin Woo
    • Phone.......:   202-619-0900
    • Fax...........:   202-260-0550
    • E-mail.......:   Edwin.Woo@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   330 Independence Avenue, S.W. Room 5362 - Cohen Bldg., Washington, D.C. 20201

top of page


Ethics Division Staff Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel, Designated Agency Ethics Official, Edgar M. Swindell
    • Phone.......: 202-690-7258
    • Fax..........:  202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......: Edgar.Swindell@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 700-E, Washington, DC 20201

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel for Ethics Advice and Policy, Alternate Agency Ethics Official, Elizabeth J. Fischmann
    • Phone.......: 202-690-7258
    • Fax..........:  202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......: Elizabeth.Fischmann@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 711E-9, Washington, DC 20201

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel for Ethics Program Administration, Theodore J. Kim
    • Phone.......: 202-690-7258
    • Fax..........:  202-690-5452
    • E-mail.......: Theodore.Kim@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 746G-4, Washington, DC 20201

  • Agency Deputy Ethics Counselors and Ethics Coordinators

top of page


Food and Drug Division Staff Contact Information

Immediate Food and Drug Division Staff Positions

  • Associate General Counsel, Elizabeth Dickinson
    • Phone.......: 301-796-8540
    • Fax...........: 301-846-8637
    • E-mail.......: Elizabeth.Dickinson@fda.hhs.gov
    • Location....: White Oak Building 31, Rm. 4536, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Mark Raza
    • Phone.......: 301-796-8540
    • Fax...........: 301-846-8637
    • Location....: White Oak Building 31, Rm. 4536, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

Litigation Branch, Food and Drug Division Staff Position

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel for Litigation, Annamarie Kempic
    • Phone.......: 301-443-8570
    • Fax...........: 301-847-8636
    • E-mail.......: annamarie.kempic@fda.hhs.gov
    • Location....: White Oak Building 31, Rm. 4422, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

Program Review Branch, Food and Drug Division Staff Position

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, (Foods & Veterinary Medicine) Peter Beckerman
    • Phone.......: 301-796-4715
    • Fax...........: 301-847-8638
    • E-mail.......: peter.beckerman@fda.hhs.gov
    • Location....: White Oak Building 31, Rm. 4506, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel (Drugs and Biologics), Denise Esposito
    • Phone.......: 301-796-3607
    • Fax...........: 301-847-8618
    • E-mail.......: denise.esposito@fda.hhs.gov
    • Location....: White Oak Building 32, Rm. 4368, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel (Tobacco & Devices), David Mednick (Acting - Tobacco)
    • Phone.......: 301-796-8607
    • Fax...........: 301-847-8618
    • E-mail.......: david.mednick@fda.hhs.gov
    • Location....: White Oak Building 32, Rm. 4384, 10903 New Hampshire Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20993

top of page


Legislative Division Staff Contact Information

  • Associate General Counsel, Edith Blackwell
    • Phone.......: 202-690-7773
    • Fax...........: 202-690-7309
    • E-mail.......: Edith.Blackwell@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 417-H, Washington, DC 20201

Legislative Reference Service

  • Chief, Michelle Lawrence Willoughby
    • Phone.......: 202-690-7750
    • Fax...........: 202-690-7309
    • E-mail.........:Michelle.Willoughby@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 200 Independence Ave., S.W., Room 435-G, Washington, DC 20201

top of page


Public Health Division Staff Contact Information

Immediate Public Health Division Staff Positions

  • Associate General Counsel, David E. Benor
    • Phone.......:   301-443-2644
    • Fax...........:   301-443-2639
    • E-mail.......:   David.Benor@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   5600 Fishers Ln., Room 4A-53, Rockville, MD 20857

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Branch

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Paula L. Kocher
    • Phone.......: 404-639-7200
    • Fax...........: 404-639-7351
    • E-mail.......: Paula.Kocher@cdc.hhs.gov
    • Location....: CDC, Building 21, Room 10000, Atlanta, GA 30333

Public Health and Science Branch, Public Health Division Staff Position

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, David A. Naimon
    • Phone.......: 301-443-2644
    • Fax...........: 301-443-2639
    • E-mail.......: David.Naimon@hhs.gov
    • Location....: 5600 Fishers Ln., Room 4A-53, Rockville, MD 20857

Indian Health Branch, Public Health Division Staff Position

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Julia Pierce
    • Phone.......: 301-443-6834
    • Fax...........: 301-480-2161
    • E-mail.......: Julia.Pierce@ihs hhs.gov
    • Location....: 12300 Twinbrook Parkway, Room 450, Rockville, MD 20857

National Institutes of Health Branch, Public Health Division Staff Position

  • Deputy Associate General Counsel, Barbara M. McGarey
    • Phone.......:   301-496-6043
    • Fax...........:   301-402-1034
    • E-mail.......:   Barbara.McGarey@nih.hhs.gov
    • Location....:   9000 Rockville Pike, Bldg. 31, Room 2B-50, Bethesda, MD 20892

top of page


Regional Offices of the General Counsel

Region I -- Boston
(Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont)

  • Chief Counsel, Nancy S. Nemon
    • Phone.......:   617-565-2382
    • Fax...........:   617-565-4809
    • E-mail.......:   Nancy.Nemon@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   JFK Federal Building, Room 2250 Government Center, Boston, MA 02203

Region II -- New York
(New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands)

  • Chief Counsel, Joel Lerner
    • Phone.......:   212-264-6373
    • Fax...........:   212-264-6364
    • E-mail.......:   Joel.Lerner@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   Jacob Javits Federal Bldg, 26 Federal Plaza, Room 3908, New York, NY 10278

Region III -- Philadelphia
(Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia)

  • Chief Counsel, James C. Newman
    • Phone.......:   215-861-4461
    • Fax...........:   215-861-4462
    • E-mail.......:   James.Newman@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   150 S. Independence Mall West, Public Ledger Bldg, Suite 418, Philadelphia, PA 19106-9111

Region IV -- Atlanta
(Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee)

  • Chief Counsel, Dana Petti
    • Phone.......:   404-562-7834
    • Fax...........:   404-562-7855
    • E-mail.......:   dana.petti@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth St., S.W., Suite 5M60, Atlanta, GA 30303-8909

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Christine Bradfield
    • Phone.......:   404-562-7835
    • Fax...........:   404-562-7855
    • E-mail.......:   christine.bradfield@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth St., S.W., Suite 5M60, Atlanta, GA 30303-8909

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Kathleen Duffield
    • Phone.......:   404-562-7846
    • Fax...........:   404-562-7855
    • E-mail.......:   kathleen.duffield@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   Sam Nunn Atlanta Federal Center, 61 Forsyth St., S.W., Suite 5M60, Atlanta, GA 30303-8909

Region V -- Chicago
(Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin)

  • Chief Counsel, Alan S. Dorn
    • Phone.......:   312-886-1707
    • Fax...........:   312-886-1718
    • E-mail.......:   alan.dorn@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   233 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5519

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Jeffery Cusic
    • Phone.......:  312-886-1713
    • Fax...........:  312-886-1718
    • E-mail.......:  Jeffery.Cusic@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  233 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5519

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Ted Yasuda
    • Phone.......:  312- 866-1696
    • Fax...........:  312-886-1718
    • E-mail.......:  ted.yasuda@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  233 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5519

Region VI -- Dallas
(Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)

  • Chief Counsel, Dee Thompson
    • Phone.......:   214-767-2995
    • Fax..........:   214-767-0907
    • E-mail.......:   dee.thompson@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   1301 Young Street, Room 1138, Dallas, TX 75202

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Debbie Anne Belcher
    • Phone.......:   214-767-2995
    • Fax...........:   214-767-0907
    • E-mail.......:   Debbie-Anne.Belcher@HHS.GOV
    • Location....:   1301 Young Street, Room 1138, Dallas, TX 75202

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Mervin Turner
    • Phone.......:   214-767-2995
    • Fax...........:   214-767-0907
    • E-mail.......:   mervin.turner@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   1301 Young Street, Room 1138, Dallas, TX 75202

Region VII -- Kansas City
(Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska)

  • Chief Counsel, Randy Butler
    • Phone.......:   816-426-5533
    • Fax...........:   816-426-3550
    • E-mail.......:  Randall.Butler@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   601 East 12 Street, Room N1800, Kansas City, MO 64106

Region VIII -- Denver
(Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming)

  • Chief Counsel, Scott Driggs
    • Phone.......:   303-844-5101
    • Fax...........:   303-844-6665
    • E-mail.......:   scott.driggs@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  999 18th Street South Terrace, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80202

Region IX -- San Francisco
(American Samoa, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada)

  • Acting Chief Counsel, Kevin Milne
    • Phone.......:   415-437-8181
    • Fax...........:   415-437-8188
    • E-mail.......:   Kevin.Milne@hhs.gov
    • Location....:  90 7th St., Suite 4-500, San Francisco, CA 94103

  • Deputy Chief Counsel, Michael Cabotaje
    • Phone.......:   415-437-8181
    • Fax...........:  415-437-8188
    • E-mail.......:  Michael.Cabotaje@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   90 7th St., Suite 4-500, San Francisco, CA 94103

  • Acting Deputy Chief Counsel, Gina Shin
    • Phone.......:   415-437-8181
    • Fax...........:   415-437-8188
    • E-mail.......:   Gina.Shin@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   90 7th St., Suite 4-525, San Francisco, CA 94103

Region X -- Seattle
(Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington)

  • Chief Counsel, Pamela K Parker
    • Phone.......:   206-615-2268
    • Fax...........:   206-615-2286
    • E-mail.......:   pamela.parker@hhs.gov
    • Location....:   Columbia Tower, 701 Fifth Avenue Suite 1620, Seattle, WA 98104

top of page


Last Updated: 04/23/2014


Content created by General Counsel
Content last reviewed on April 25, 2014