Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Return to Search

2023 Federal Poverty Level Standards

As required by Section 673(2) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1981 (42
U.S.C. 9902(2)), the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) updates the poverty
guidelines at least annually and by law these updates are applied to eligibility criteria for
programs such as Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). These annual
updates increase the Census Bureau’s current official poverty thresholds by the relevant
percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI–U).

Download the Guidance Document


Issued by: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)

Issue Date: January 19, 2023

DISCLAIMER: The contents of this database lack the force and effect of law, except as authorized by law (including Medicare Advantage Rate Announcements and Advance Notices) or as specifically incorporated into a contract. The Department may not cite, use, or rely on any guidance that is not posted on the guidance repository, except to establish historical facts.