• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share


Please note that the Charter calls for the Committee to be comprised of 14 public members (including the chair and vice-chair), 9 representative members, and 9 ex-officio members. Nominations for new members to complete the roster are currently under review. 

Chair of ACBTSA

Jay Menitove, MD
Clinical Professor, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Kansas School of Medicine
TERM: 12/07/2016 to 12/06/2017


Emily A. Blumberg, MD, FACP
Director, Transplant Infectious Diseases
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
TERM: 06/06/2016 to 06/05/2019

Public Members

Pam Alesescu, MSW, ASW
Palliative Care Social Worker
Long Beach Memorial Medical Center
TERM: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2019

Larry Allen
Consumer Advocate
TERM: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2019

Daniel C. Brennan, MD, FACP
Alan A. & Edith L. Wolff Professor of Renal Diseases
Director, Transplant Nephrology
Washington University School of Medicine
TERM: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2019

Brian S. Custer, PhD, MPH
Associate Director, Senior Investigator 
Epidemiology and Health Policy Research
Blood Systems Research Institute
TERM:  06/06/2016 to 06/05/2019

Cassandra D. Josephson, MD
Professor, Pathology and Pediatrics
Emory University School of Medicine
Medical Director, Transfusion, Tissue, and Apheresis Services
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
TERM: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2018

Camille N. Kotton, MD, FIDSA
Clinical Director
Transplant and Immunocompromised Host
Infectious Disease Division
Massachusetts General Hospital
TERM: 12/07/2016 to 12/06/2018

Alex J. London, PhD
Director, Center for Ethics and Policy
Department of Philosophy and Center for Ethics and Policy
Carnegie Mellon University
Term: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2018

Karen Quillen, MD, MPH
Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine, Department of Pathology/Laboratory Medicine
Attending Hematologist, Stem Cell Transplant Program, Department of Medicine
Boston Medical Center
TERM: 06/07/2015 to 06/07/2018

Mark W. Skinner, JD
Institute for Policy Advancement, Ltd.
TERM: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2018

Representative Members


Lynne Uhl, MD
Director, Division of Laboratory and Transfusion Medicine
Department of Pathology,
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Term: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2019

America Association of Tissue Banks

Frank S. Wilton, CAE, IOM
President and Chief Executive Officer
American Association of Tissue Banks
Term: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2019

Association of Organ Procurement Organizations

Lisa Stocks, RN, MSN, FNP
Executive Director, Lifesharing
Term: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2020

Eye Bank Association of America

Marian Macsai, MD
North Shore University Health System
Glenbrook Hospital
TERM:  12/07/2016 to 12/06/2018

Major Blood Supplier

Louis M. Katz, MD
Chief Medical Officer
America’s Blood Centers
Term: 12/6/2016 to 12/5/2018

Plasma Protein Fraction Community or Trade Organization

Mary Gustafson
Vice President, Global Regulatory Policy
Plasma Protein Therapeutic Association
TERM: 06/07/2011 to 06/07/2018

Major Hospital Organization or Manufacturer of Blood, Plasma, or Other Tissue/Organ Test Kits


Manufacturer of Blood, Plasma, or Other Tissue/Organ Equipment

Richard Benjamin, MBChB, MS(HCM), PhD
Chief Medical Officer
Cerus Corporation
Term: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2019

Major Hospital Accreditation Organization

Stefan Riedel, MD, PhD, FCAP
Associate Professor, Pathology
Harvard Medical School
Associate Medical Director, Clinical Microbiology Laboratories
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
TERM: 11/28/2016 to 11/27/2019

Ex-Officio Members

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Capt. Matthew J. Kuehnert, MD
Director, Office of Blood, Organ, and Other Tissue Safety
Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Diane H. Corning, RN, JD
Health Insurance Specialist, Office of Clinical Standards and Quality, Clinical Standards Group

Food and Drug Administration, Office of Blood Research and Review

Jay S. Epstein, MD
Director, Office of Blood Research and Review

Food and Drug Administration, Office of Tissues and Advanced Therapies

Scott A. Brubaker, CTBS
Director, Divsion of Human Tissue

Health Resources and Services Administration

Capt. Melissa Greenwald, MD
Director, Division of Transplantation

National Institutes of Health

Harvey Klein, MD
Director, Division of Transfusion Medicine

Department of Defense

Col Clayton D. Simon, MD
Medical Corps, US Army
Director, The Joint Pathology Center

Department of Veterans Affairs

Nora Ratcliff, MD
Chief, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
White River Junction VA Medical Center

Chair, Advisory Committee on Organ Transplantation

Mark Barr, MD
Co-Director of Cardiothoracic Transplantation
Associate Professor of Surgery, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Content created by Office of HIV/AIDS and Infectious Disease Policy
Content last reviewed on February 27, 2017
Back to Top