• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share

TBDWG Reports

The Tick-Borne Disease Working Group (TBDWG) is required to submit a report on its activities and any recommendations to the HHS Secretary and Congress every two years. The first report was submitted in November 2018. Dozens of individuals participated in the Tick-Borne Disease Working Group process, either directly or indirectly contributing to this 2018 report. The Working Group extends their sincere appreciation to the many members of the public—from across all sectors—who shared their expertise, stories, and recommendations to help improve the quality of the report

2018 TBDWG Report to HHS Secretary and Congress

TBDWG Subcommittee Reports

The TBDWG established six subcommittees in February 2018. Each subcommittee identified priorities and developed a report to the TBDWG that described current efforts, gaps in research, and potentials actions to be considered by the TBDWG for the 2018 report to the HHS Secretary and Congress. 

Report of the Access to Care Services and Support to Patients Subcommittee
Robert C. Bransfield, MD, DLFAPA
Capt. Scott J. Cooper, PA-C, MMSc (Co-Chair)
Sherrill Franklin
Anna Frost, PhD
Holiday Goodreau
Enid Haller, LCSW, PhD
Paula Jackson Jones (Co-Chair)
Col. Nicole Malachowski
Leonard Schuchman, DO, MPH, FAAFP
Sheila M. Statlender, PhD
Kathleen Steele, LCSW
Karen Vanderhoof-Forschner, JD, MBA

Report of the Disease Vectors, Surveillance, and Prevention Subcommittee
Jill Auerbach
C. Benjamin (Ben) Beard, PhD (Co-Chair)
Neeta Connally, PhD, MSPH
Katherine Feldman, DVM, MPH
Thomas N. Mather, PhD
Phyllis Mervine
Col. Robyn Nadolny, PhD
Adalberto Pérez de León, DVM, PhD, MS
Patricia V. Smith (Co-Chair)
Daniel E. Sonenshine, PhD
Jean I. Tsao, PhD
Monica M. White
Stephen Wikel, PhD

Report of the Other Tick-Borne Diseases and Co-Infections Subcommittee
Megan Dulaney, MS
Marna Ericson, PhD
Christine Green, MD
Richard I. Horowitz, MD (Co-Chair)
Charles Lubelczyk, MPH
Ulrike G. Munderloh, DVM, PhD
Garth Nicolson, MD, PhD
Christopher D. Paddock, MD, MPHTM
Samuel S. Perdue, PhD
Allen L. Richard, PhD (Co-Chair)
Sam R. Telford III, ScD

Report of the Pathogenesis, Transmission, and Treatment Subcommittee
Wendy Adams, MBA (Co-Chair)
Nicole Baumgarth, DVM, PhD
Pat K. Coyle, MD
Sam Donta, MD
Brian Fallon, MD, MPH
Lorraine Johnson, JD, MBA
Capt. Estella Z. Jones, DVM (Co-Chair)
Elizabeth Maloney, MD
David Leiby, PhD
Jon Skare, PhD
Brian Stevenson, PhD

Report of the Testing and Diagnostics Subcommittee
Holly Ahern, MS, MT (ASCP)
Charles Y. Chiu, MD, PhD
Roberta DeBiasi, MD, MS
Noel Gerald, PhD
Deborah Hoadley, MD, MPH
Maliha Ilias, PhD
Lise E. Nigrovic, MD, MPH (Co-Chair)
Bobbi Pritt, MD, MSc
David Roth, JD (Co-Chair)
Steven Schutzer, MD

Report of the Vaccine and Therapeutics Subcommittee
Felipe C. Cabello, MD
Dennis M. Dixon, PhD (Co-Chair)
Monica E. Embers, PhD
Maria Gomes-Solecki, DVM
Utpal Pal, PhD
Stanley A. Plotkin, MD
Juan Salazar, MD, MPH, FAAP
Leigh Ann Soltysiak, MS
Robert P. Smith, MD, MPH, FACP, FIDSA (Co-Chair)

Content created by Office of HIV/AIDS and Infectious Disease Policy
Content last reviewed on November 14, 2018