• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share

Pain Management Best Practices Inter-Agency Task Force Members

The Pain Management Best Practices Inter-Agency Task Force consists of 29 members – 12 public members, nine organization representative members and eight federal members based on criteria specified in the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act of 2016.

Vanila M. Singh, M.D., MACM

Chief Medical Officer, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Public Members

Sondra M. Adkinson, Pharm.D.
Clinical Pharmacist, Bay Pines Veterans Administration Healthcare System, Bay Pines, Florida.

Amanda Brandow, D.O., M.S.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics in Hematology/Oncology, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Daniel Clauw, M.D.
Director, Chronic Pain and Fatigue Research Center; Professor of Anesthesiology, Medicine (Rheumatology) and Psychiatry, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Howard L. Fields, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Departments of Neurology and Physiology, University of California at San Francisco, San Francisco, California.

Rollin M. Gallagher, M.D., M.P.H.
Editor-in-Chief, Pain Medicine and Emeritus Investigator, Center for Health Equities Research and Promotion Corporal Michael J. Crescent VA Medical Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Halena M. Gazelka, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Sciences; Chair, Mayo Clinic Opioid Stewardship Program; and Director of Inpatient Pain Services, Division of Pain Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Nicholas E. Hagemeier, Pharm.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Gatton College of Pharmacy, East Tennessee State University (ETSU); Research Director, ETSU Center for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention and Treatment, Johnson City, Tennessee.

John J. McGraw, Sr., M.D.
Medical Director, OrthoTennessee; County Commissioner, Jefferson County, Tennessee. 

John V. Prunskis, M.D.
Founder, co-Medical Director, Illinois Pain Institute, Elgin, Illinois.

Molly Rutherford, M.D., M.P.H.
Certified Addiction Specialist, Founder, Bluegrass Family Wellness, PLLC, Crestwood, Kentucky.

Bruce A. Schoneboom, Ph.D.
Chief Learning Officer, American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, Park Ridge, Illinois.

Harold K. Tu, M.D., D.M.D.
Associate Professor and Director, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, School of Dentistry, University of Minnesota; Chairman, Department of Dentistry, Fairview Hospital, University of Minnesota Medical School, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Representative Members

René Campos, Retired U.S. Navy, Commander
Senior Director of Government Relations, Military Officers Association of America, Alexander, Virginia.

Jianguo Cheng, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Anesthesiology, Director of the Cleveland Clinic Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Program, Cleveland, Ohio; and President, American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM).

Jonathan C. Fellers, M.D.
Medical Director, Integrated Medication-Assisted Therapy, Maine Medical Center; Medical Director, Maine Tobacco Help Line, MaineHealth Center for Tobacco Independence, Portland, Maine.

Michael J. Lynch, M.D.
Medical Director, Pittsburgh Poison Center; Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh, Department of Emergency Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Mary W. Meagher, Ph.D.
Professor and Coordinator of the Clinical Health Psychology Program at Texas A&M, College Station, Texas. 

Mark Rosenberg, D.O., M.B.A.
Chairman, Emergency Medicine, and Chief Innovations Officer, St. Joseph’s Health; and Board of Directors, American College Emergency Physicians, Paterson, New Jersey.

Cindy Steinberg
National Director, Policy and Advocacy, U.S. Pain Foundation; Policy Council Chair, Massachusetts Pain Initiative, Lexington, Massachusetts.

Andrea Trescot, M.D.
Interventional Pain Physician; Director, Pain and Headache Center, Eagle River, Alaska.

Sherif Zaafran, M.D.
President, Texas Medical Board, Austin, Texas.

Federal Members

Scott Griffith, M.D.
Director, National Capital Region Pain Initiative and Program Director, National Capital Consortium Pain Medicine Fellowship, U.S. Department of Defense.

Sharon Hertz, M.D.
Director, Division of Anesthesia, Analgesia, and Addiction Products, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Jan L. Losby, Ph.D.
Lead, Opioid Overdose Health Systems Team, Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

CAPT Chideha M. Ohuoha, M.D.
Director, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Linda L. Porter, Ph.D.
Director, Office of Pain Policy, National Institute for Neurological Disorders and Stroke, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Friedhelm Sandbrink, M.D.
Acting National Program Director, Pain Management Specialty Care Services, Veterans Administration Health System; and Director, Pain Management Program, Department of Neurology, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Cecelia Spitznas, Ph.D.
Senior Science Policy Advisor, Office of the Director, Office of National Drug Control Policy.

Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed on February 6, 2019