• Text Resize A A A
  • Print Print
  • Share Share on facebook Share on twitter Share

Voting Member (SGE): Sara Cosgrove, MD, MS

Sara Cosgrove, MD, MS; Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and Department of Epidemiology, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD

Sara Cosgrove, MD, MS; Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Division of Infectious Diseases, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Director, Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Antimicrobial Stewardship, Baltimore, MD

Dr. Cosgrove has been nationally and internationally-recognized for her contributions to antimicrobial stewardship, preventing antimicrobial resistance and enhancing patient safety. She has conducted several important studies to assess approaches to optimize antibiotic use and to understand the best ways to implement antibiotic stewardship interventions. Dr. Cosgrove was awarded the prestigious Oswald Avery Award from the IDSA which recognizes her substantial contribution to the infectious diseases research by the age of 45. She currently serves as Past-President of the Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America. Dr. Cosgrove also served on the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) as a participant in the Working Group on Antimicrobial Resistance.

Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health (ASH)
Content last reviewed on June 11, 2019