National Human Research Protections Advisory Committee

The charter of the National Human Research Protections Advisory Committee expired in July 2002.  These materials are presented for archival and reference purposes.  The Secretary's Advisory Committee on Human Subject Protections (SACHRP) was chartered on October 1, 2002

NHRPAC Committee Member Roster
(Click Name to View Bio Bios are in PDF format, see bottom of page to obtain free reader)


Mary Faith Marshall, Ph.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2004)
Professor of Medicine and Bioethics
University of Kansas Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
2010 Robinson Building
Kansas City, Kansas 66160-7311


Mark Barnes, J.D., LL.M.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2003)
Ropes & Gray
885 Third Avenue
Suite 3200
New York, New York 10022

Ms. Margaret Borwhat     (Term: 01/2001-01/2003)
Women's Cancer Advocacy Network
P.O. Box 5698
Charlottesville, VA 22905

Sanford Chodosh, M.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2004)
35 Oak Hill Road
Wayland, Massachusetts 01778-2917

Elliot N. Dorff, Ph.D.     (Term: 12/2000-11/2002)
Rector and Distinguished Professor of
University of Judaism
15600 Mulholland Drive
Los Angeles, California 90077

Alan R. Fleischman, M.D.     (Term: 01/2001-01/2005)
Senior Vice President
The New York Academy of Medicine
1216 Fifth Avenue at 103rd Street
New York, New York 10029

Jennie R. Joe, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.N.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2002)
Professor, Family and Community Medicine
Director, Native American Research and
      Training Center
University of Arizona
1642 E. Helen Street
Tucson, Arizona 85719

Susan Z. Kornetsky, M.P.H., C.I.P.     (Term: 01/2001-01/2004)
Director, Clinical Research Compliance
Clinical Investigation, Children's Hospital
300 Longwood Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02115

Felice J. Levine, Ph.D.     (Term: 01/2001-01/2003)
Executive Officer
American Sociological Association
1307 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 700
Washington, D.C. 20005

Robert Levine, M.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2002)
Professor of Medicine
Yale University School of Medicine
367 Cedar Street, Room 309 ESH
New Haven, Connecticut 06510

Ms. Abbey S. Meyers     (Term: 12/2000-12/2003)
National Organization for Rare Disorders
Fairwood Professional Building
P.O. Box 8923
New Fairfield, Connecticut 06812-8923

Jonathan D. Moreno, Ph.D.     (Term: 01/2001-01/2004)
Emily Davie and Joseph S. Kornfeld Professor
    of Biomedical Ethics
Director, Center for Biomedical Ethics
University of Virginia Health System
Box 800758
Charlottesville, Virginia 22908

Mary Kay Pelias, Ph.D., J.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2002)
Department of Genetics
Louisiana State University Health
      Sciences Center
533 Bolivar Street, 6P-24
New Orleans, Louisiana 70112-1393

Robert R. Rich, M.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2004)
Executive Associate Dean of Research
Emory University School of Medicine
WHSCAB Room 313
1440 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, Georgia 30322-4510

Adil E. Shamoo, Ph.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2002)
Department of Biochemistry and
     Molecular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
108 N. Greene Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201-1503

Judith L. Siegel, Ph.D.     (Term: 12/2000-12/2003)
Vice President, Head US Clinical Operations
Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc.
27 Beekman Hill Road
Caldwell, New Jersey 07006

Executive Secretariat

Greg Koski, Ph.D., M.D.
Office for Human Research Protections
Office of Public Health and Science, OS
The Tower Building
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 200
Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 496-7005

Executive Director

Kate-Louise Gottfried, J.D., M.S.P.H.
Office for Human Research Protections
Office of Public Health and Science, OS
The Tower Building
1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 200
Rockville, Maryland 20852
(301) 496-7005

Documents in PDF format require the Adobe Acrobat Reader. If you experience problems with PDF documents, please download the latest version of the Reader.

If you have questions/suggestions about this web page, Click Here to e-mail
Updated January 13, 2003