Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

Shared Services

Many Federal Agencies face the challenge of meeting growing mission requirements with declining resources.  Shared IT services are one way to drive down operating costs, especially in support and commodity areas (e.g., human resources, financials, travel, e-mail, websites, and help desks) where there is, or could be, commonality in workflows and enabling technologies.  Successful implementation of shared services within and between agencies depends first on executive-level support, followed by program-level support.  Without this, identifying all of the agency areas that should move to shared IT services, selecting roles, and facilitating those changes will not be possible.

HHS’ vision for shared services is to:

Maximize the Economic, Architectural, and Operational Value of HHS’s Shared Services in Support of Promoting the Advancement of the Health, Safety, and Well-Being of the American People”.

Minimizing cost and maximizing capacity utilization across HHS through a systematic, collaborative approach will be measured by the following goals. Extensive use of shared services enables an unprecedented agility in achievement of agency mission necessary to meet current and emerging global public health challenges.

  • Goal 1: Establishing and approving an agency-wide shared services IT policy and Strategy
  • Goal 2: Foster the Shared-first paradigm to improve inter and intra-agency shared services
  • Goal 3: Collaborating and coordinating with OPDIVs  to effectively manage and rapidly deploy shared services
  • Goal 4: Enabling the sharing of knowledge, best practices, and lessons learned  of shared services

The HHS EA community developed a Shared Services Lifecycle that can be leveraged and applied across the OPDIVs providing the ability to consistently and efficiently orchestrate shared services. To ensure that the shared services lifecycle is effective and usable, it’s aligned with the current HHS governance processes and methodologies such as the Enterprise Performance Life Cycle, the Common Approach to Federal Enterprise Architecture, and the Federal Segment Architecture Methodology (FSAM). The process will also leverage resources and governance bodies already in place across HHS.

The diagram below provides a conceptual view of the lifecycle of a service and the following sections provide an overview of each phase.

This figure shows the HHS Shared Services lifecycle which includes the following phases: Identify and Plan, Select & Prioritize, Validate, Publish, Review & Monitor. It also shows how services are developed following the EPLC. The Consume cycle include searching, acquiring, and using shared services.

To ensure that services are shareable, services will follow the lifecycle showed above.  The validation is a critical phase of the lifecycle.  During this step, services will be evaluated and only published as shared services if they meet a set of validation criteria.