Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

National Communications System

Program Overview

The National Communications System (NCS) was established to protect the critical telecommunications and electrical infrastructure of the United States in the event of emergencies or catastrophes. The NCS governs Telecommunications Services Priorities for installation of and/or restoration of services on critical telecommunications circuits and oversees three service programs:  the Government Emergency Telecommunications System (GETS), the Wireless Priority Service (WPS), and the Telecommunications Service Priority (TSP) Program.

Companies and organizations in the private sector can be sponsored by Federal Government Agencies, to allow TSP, GETS and WPS to be ordered and used by those stakeholders with critical need. The HHS OCIO reviews and provides approval decisions for these sponsorships with regard to stakeholders that have an impact on public health.