Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

ICNAA Member Agencies

SECRETARY'S INTRADEPARTMENTAL COUNCIL ON
NATIVE AMERICAN AFFAIRS
ICNAA MEMBERS AND LIAISONS
HHS Divisions

STAFF
DIVISION

DESCRIPTION

COUNCIL MEMBER

LIAISON

ICNAA ChairChairwoman of Intradepartmental Council on Native American AffairsLillian Sparks Robinson
Commissioner, ANA
Lillian.sparks@acf.hhs.gov
Camille Loya
Senior Policy Advisor
camille.loya@acf.hhs.gov
Immediate Office of the Secretary/
Chief of Staff
The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.Douglas Steiger
Couselor to the Secretary
Office of the Secretary
Douglas.Steiger@hhs.gov
 
Immediate Office of the Secretary/
Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs
(IEA)
IEA facilitates communication regarding HHS initiatives as they relate to state, local, and tribal governments.Paul Dioguardi
IEA Director
Stacey Ecoffey
Principal Advisor for Tribal Affairs
Stacey.Ecoffey@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for Administration
(ASA)
ASA provides leadership for HHS departmental management, including human resource policy and departmental operations.Ned Holland
Assistant Secretary
Diane Stewart
Senior Leader, OFMP/ASA
Diane.Stewart@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources
(ASFR)
ASFR provides advice and guidance to the Secretary on budget, financial management, acquisition policy and support, grants management, and the small business programs and to provide for the direction and coordination of these activities throughout the Department.Ellen Murray
Assistant Secretary
Elizabeth Fischer Laurie
Program Analyst
Elizabeth.Fischerlaurie@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for Health
(ASH)
ASH serves as the Secretary's primary advisor on matters involving the nation's public health and the Public Health Service.Karen DeSalvo
Acting Assistant Secretary for Health
 
J. Nadine Gracia
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Minority Health
Nadine.gracia@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for Legislation
(ASL)
ASL Serves as the primary link between the Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) and Congress.Jim Esquea
Assistant Secretary
Sonja Nesbit
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Sonja.Nesbit@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary of Public Affairs
(ASPA)
ASPA serves as the Secretary's principal counsel on public affairs matters, provides centralized leadership and guidance for public affairs activities within the Department, and administers the Freedom of Information and Privacy Act. Sherice Perry Dillard
Special Assistant
Sherice.PerryDillard@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
(ASPE)
ASPE is the principal advisor to the Secretary on policy development and is responsible for policy coordination, legislation development, strategic planning, policy research and evaluation, and economic analysisRichard Frank
Assistant Secretary
Adelle Simmons
Senior Program Analyst
ASPE
Office of Health Policy
Adelle.Simmons@hhs.gov
Assistant Secretary for  Preparedness and Response
(ASPR)
ASPHEP serves as the Secretary's principal advisor on matters related to bioterrorism and other public health emergencies.Nicole Lurie
Assistant Secretary
Vacant
Departmental Appeals Board
(DAB)
DAB provides prompt, fair, and impartial dispute resolution services to parties in many different kinds of disputes involving components of HHS.Constance B. Tobias
Chair
Debbie K. Nobleman
Special Assistant to Chair
Debbie.nobleman@hhs.gov
Office for Civil Rights
(OCR)
 
OCR promotes and ensures that people have equal access to and opportunity to participate in and receive services in all HHS programs without facing unlawful discrimination.Jocelyn Samuels DirectorBadar Tareen
Civil Rights Analyst
Badar.tareen@hhs.gov
Office of the General Counsel
(OGC)
OGC provides quality representation and legal advice on a wide range of highly visible national issues.William B. Schultz
General Counsel
Julia Pierce
Deputy Assistant General Counsel IHS
Julia.Pierce@ihs.gov  
Office of Global Health Administration
(OGHA)
OGHA represents the Department to the governments, other Federal Departments and agencies, international organizations and the private sector on international and refugee health issues.Jimmy Kolker
Director
Cristina Rabadan-Diehl
Director, Office of the Americas
cristina.rabadan-diehl@hhs.gov
Office of Health Reform
(OHR)
OHR will spearhead the department’s efforts to pass urgently needed health reform this year and coordinate closely with the White House Office of Health Reform.  Cat Oakar
Director of Public Health Policy
catherine.oakar@hhs.gov
Office of the Inspector General
(OIG)
OIG protect the integrity of HHS programs, as well as the health and welfare of the beneficiaries of those programs.Daniel Levinson
Inspector General
Melinda Golub
General Attorney
Melinda.golub@oig.hhs.gov

 

OPERATING
DIVISION

DESCRIPTION

COUNCIL MEMBER

LIAISON

Administration for Children and Families
(ACF)
ACF is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities.Mark Greenberg
Acting Assistant Secretary
Lillian Sparks Robinson
Commissioner, ANA
Lillian.sparks@acf.hhs.gov
Administration for Community Living
(ACL)
The ACL will include the efforts and achievements of the Administration on Aging, the Office on Disability and the Administration on Developmental Disabilities in a single agency, with enhanced policy and program support for both cross-cutting initiatives and efforts focused on the unique needs of individual groups such as children with developmental disabilities, adults with physical disabilities, or seniors, including seniors with Alzheimer's.Kathy Greenlee
Assistant Secretary
Cynthia LaCounte
Director for the Office for American Indian, Alaskan Native and Native Hawaiian Programs
Cynthia.lacounte@acl.hhs.gov
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
(AHRQ)
AHRQ’s mission is to produce evidence to make healthcare safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable and affordable, and to work within HHS and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.Richard Kronick
Director
Cecilia Casale
Senior Advisory for Minority Health
Cecilia.casale@ahrq.hhs.gov
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC)
CDC is recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and abroad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships.Ileana Arias
Principal Deputy Director
Judith Monroe
Director of the Office for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Support
JAMonroe@cdc.gov
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
(CMS)
CMS’s mission is to assure health care security for beneficiaries. Kitty Marx
Director, Tribal Affairs Group
Kitty.marx@cms.hhs.gov
Food and Drug Administration
(FDA)
FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.Margaret Hamburg
Commissioner
Mary Hitch
Senior Policy Advisor
Mary.hitch@fda.hhs.gov
Health Resources and Services Administration
(HRSA)
HRSA’s mission is to improve and expand access to quality health care for all.Jim McCrae
Acting Administrator
Diana Espinosa
Deputy Administrator
Office of the Administrator
Despinosa@hrsa.gov
Indian Health Service
(IHS)
IHS’s mission is to raise the physical, mental, social, and spiritual health of American Indians and Alaska Natives to the highest level.Robert McSwain
Acting Director, IHS
Sandra Pattea
Deputy Director for Intergovernmental Affairs
Sandra.pattea@ihs.gov
National Institutes of Health
(NIH)
NIH is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation.Lawrence A. Tabak
Deputy Director, NIH
Yvonne Maddox
Acting Director, NIMHD
Maddoxy@exchange.nih.gov
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
(SAMHSA)
SAMHSA works to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities.Pamela Hyde
Administrator
Sheila Cooper
Senior Advisor for Tribal Affairs
Sheila.cooper@samhsa.hhs.gov

Content created by Intergovernmental/External Affairs
Content last reviewed on April 29, 2015