Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

Region IX

Regional Director:  Herb Schultz
90 Seventh Street
Federal Building, Suite 5-100
San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone: (415) 437-8500
Fax: (415) 437-8505



Herb SchultzHerb K. Schultz was previously serving as Senior Advisor to Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger and Director of the California Recovery Task Force. In this role, he was responsible for the oversight and implementation of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. As Senior Advisor to the Governor from 2008-2010, he represented the Governor on major domestic policy issues, which included serving as a principal advisor on health care reform.

Previously, he served as the Senior Health Policy Advisor to the Governor during California's 2006-2008 state debate on comprehensive health care reform. From 2005-2006, he served as Vice President of Government Programs for McKesson Health Solutions, where he oversaw the company’s disease management and nurse advice programs for Medicaid and Medicare beneficiaries. Mr. Schultz received his BA in Political Science and International Studies from The American University in Washington, DC and has a Masters Degree in Public Policy from Georgetown University, also in Washington, DC.


Regional Staff Contact Information:


Regional Operating Divisions Office Web Sites:


Federal Regional Council

The Federal Regional Council (FRC) is a consortium of nineteen federal Departments and Agencies representing nearly thirty different program offices in Region IX (Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and the Outer Pacific Islands). Its goal is to work in a coordinated manner to make Federal programs more effective and efficient in Region IX.

The FRC is chaired by the Regional Director of the Department of Health and Human Services and has four committees:


  • U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
  • Department of Interior
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • General Services Administration
  • Internal Revenue Service
  • Small Business Administration
  • Social Security Administration

Region 9 Area Served

Content created by Intergovernmental/External Affairs
Content last reviewed on April 16, 2014