• Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet

Testimony

Statement by
Kathleen Sebelius
Secretary
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

on
Oral Testimony on Affordable Care Act Implementation 

before
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives

Wednesday October 30, 2013

Chairman Upton, Ranking Member Waxman, Members of the Committee:

I left my position as Governor of Kansas, 4½ years ago, for the opportunity to continue work I have been doing for most of my over 35 years of public service – to expand the opportunities for all Americans, regardless of geography or gender or income, to have affordable health coverage. 

During my years as a State Legislator, as an elected Insurance Commissioner, as head of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, and as a two-term Governor, and now as HHS Secretary, I have worked on that effort that I care deeply about.

There are still millions of Americans who are uninsured as well as underinsured – people who have some coverage at some price for some illness, but have no real protection from financial ruin and no real confidence that they will be able to take care of themselves and their families if they have an accident or an illness. And for them, a new day has finally come.

In these early weeks, access to HealthCare.gov has been a miserably frustrating experience for way too many Americans, including many who have waited years – in some cases their entire lives – for the security of health insurance.

I am as frustrated and angry as anyone, with the flawed launch of HealthCare.gov.

So let me say directly to these Americans: You deserve better.  I apologize.  I am accountable to you for fixing these problems.  And I am committed to earning your confidence back by fixing the site.