Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

Advisory Committee on Blood and Tissue Safety and Availability

December 2015 Membership Roster*

(*Please note that the Charter calls for the Committee to be comprised of 14 public members and six (6) representative members. Nominations for new members to complete the roster are currently under review.)


Jay Menitove, M.D.
637 W 57th Terrace
Kansas City, MO 64113
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2016


Pam Alesescu, MSW, ASW
Palliative Care Social Worker
Long Beach Memorial Medical Center
21 Calle Domingo
San Clemente, CA 90806
Term: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2019

Larry Allen
Consumer Advocate
933 South Church Street
Burlington, NC 27215
Term: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2019

Emily A. Blumberg, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Director, Transplant Infectious Diseases
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Suite E, 3 Silverstein
3400 Spruce Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Term: 06/05/2013 to 06/05/2016

University of Illinois at Chicago
840 South Wood Street
Chicago, Il 60612
Term: 12/05/2011 to 12/05/2015

Brian S. Custer, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate Investigator
Epidemiology and Health Policy Research
Blood Systems Research Institute
270 Masonic Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94118
Term: 06/05/2013 to 06/05/2016

University of Pennsylvania
723 Blockley Hall
423 Guardian Drive
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6021
Term: 12/05/2011 to 12/05/2015

Cassandra Josephson, M.D.
Professor, Pathology and Pediatrics|
Emory University School of Medicine
Medical Director, Transfusion, Tissue and Apheresis Services
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
1405 Clifton Road NE
Atlanta, GA 30332
Term: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2018

Camille Kotton, M.D.
Clinical Director
Transplant and Immunocompromised Host
Infectious Disease Division of Massachusetts
General Hospital
55 Fruit Street, Cox 5
Boston, MA 02114
Term: 12/05/2012 to 12/05/2015


University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Term: 12/05/2011 to 12/05/2015

Karen Quillen, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine
Department of Pathology/ Laboratory
Medicine Attending Hematologist, Stem Cell Transplant Program
Department of Medicine
Boston Medical Center
88 East Newton St.
Boston MA 02118
Term: 06/07/2011 to 06/07/2015
06/07/2015 to 06/07/2018

Ravindra Sarode, M.D.
Professor, Department of Pathology
Director, Transfusion Medicine
and Hemostasis Laboratory
Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75390-9073
Term: 03/30/2009 to 03/30/2012
12/05/2012 to 12/05/2016

Aryeh Shander, M.D., FCCM, FCCP
Chief, Department of Anesthesiology
Critical Care and Hyperbaric Medicine
Englewood Hospital Medical Center
350 Engle Street
Engelwood, NJ 07631
Term: 03/30/2013 to 03/30/2016

Mark W. Skinner, JD

President/CEO Institute for Policy 

Advancement, LTD.

Term: 11/07/2015 to 11/07/2019

Representative Members (Voting)

Mark Popovsky, M.D.
Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
Haemonetics Corporation
400 Wood Road
Braintree, MA 02184
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2016

The Joint Commission
Christina L. Cordero, Ph.D., M.P..H
Associate Project Director
Division of Standards and Survey Method
Division of Healthcare Quality and Evaluation
The Joint Commission
One Renaissance Boulevard
Oakbrook, Terrace, IL 60181
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2016

American Association of Blood Banks
Susan Roseff-Dickerson, M.D.
Chair, Division of Clinical Pathology
Director, Apheresis
Medical College of Virginia Campus
Virginia Commonwealth University
Department of Pathology
P.O. Box 980662
Richmond, VA 23298-0662
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2016

American Association of Tissue Banks
David Smith, M.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services
349 South Main Street
Dayton, OH 45402-2715
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2016

Abbot Diagnostics
6746 East Wellsley Court
Gurnee, IL 600311
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2015

Association of Organ Procurement Organizations
Charlie Alexander, R.N., M.S.N., M.B.A., CPTC
President and CEO
The Living Legacy Foundation of Maryland
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2015

American Red Cross
J. Chris Hroude
Executive Vice President
Biomedical Services
2025 E Street, NW NE10-29
Washington, DC 20006
Term: 12/05/2012 to 12/05/2016

Eye Bank Association of America
Marian Macsai, M.D.
Northshore University Health System
Glenbrook Hospital

Glenview, IL 60026
Term: 12/06/2012 to 12/06/2015

Plasma Protein Therapeutics Association
Mary Gustafson
Vice President, Global Regulatory Policy
Plasma Protein Therapeutic Association
147 Old Solomon’s Island Road, Suite 100
Annapolis, MD 21401
Term: 06/07/2011 to 06/07/2013
06/07/2013 to 06/07/2015
06/07/2015 to 06/07/2018

Non-Voting Ex Officio Members

Advisory Committee on Organ Transplantation
Mark L. Barr, M.D.
Director, USC, Transplantation Institute
Associate Professor of Surgery
Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
1520 San Pablo Street, Suite 4300
Los Angeles, CA 90033

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Matthew G. Kuehnert, M.D.
Director, Office of Blood, Organ, and Other Tissue Safety
Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion
National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
1600 Clifton Road, Building 6, MS A35
Atlanta, GA 30333

Food and Drug Administration
Jay S. Epstein, M.D.
Office of Blood Research and Review
Food and Drug Administration
1401 Rockville Pike, HFM-300
Rockville, MD 20852

National Institutes of Health
Harvey Klein, M.D.
Division of Transfusion Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Building 10, Room 1C711
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892-1184

Department of Defense
Clayton D. Simon
Transfusion Consultant
Office of the Surgeon General US Army
3551 Roger Brooke Drive
Ft Sam Houston TX 78234

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Diane H. Corning, R.N., J.D.
Health Insurance Specialist
Office of Clinical Standards and Quality
Clinical Standards Group
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
7500 Security Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21244

Health Resources and Services Administration
Melissa Greenwald, M.D.
Division of Transplantation Room 12C-06
Health Resources and Services Administration
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857

Food and Drug Administration
Laura St. Martin, M.D., M.P.H.
FDA/CBER/OCTGT/Division of Human Tissue
1401 Rockville Pike, Suite 200S
Rockville, MD 20852

Content created by Assistant Secretary for Health - Adv. Com./Blood/Tissue Safety
Content last reviewed on April 22, 2016