Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

Appointment of Members April 1, 2007


Appointment of Members

Sunday, April 1, 2007

Contact: Office of the Assistant
Secretary for Health
(202) 690-7694

The terms of five CFSAC members, including the Chair, ended in September 30, 2006. The affected members were Drs. Kenneth Friedman, Anthony Komaroff and Nahid Mohagheghpour, Jane Fitzpatrick, and Staci Stevens; Dr. Mohagheghpour served as the Committee Chair. Individuals were selected to fill the vacant positions. The following individuals have been appointed by the Secretary to serve as members of the Committee:

Ronald Glaser, Ph.D.; Associate Vice President for Research, Ohio State University; Columbus, OH. Dr. Glaser directs programs that support a broad range of research in psychoneuroimmunology. As an employee of the Ohio State University, Dr. Glaser serves as director of the Institute for Behavioral Medicine Research (IBMR) and the Center for Stress and Wound Healing. Under Dr. Glaser’s direction, the IBMR employs one of the largest group of psychoneuroimmunolgy researchers in the world. The group is comprised of experts in the fields of immunology, virology, psychology, endocrinology, molecular biology, behavior, oncology, and te neurosciences.

Arthur Hartz, M.D., Ph.D.; Professor for Quality in Family Medicine, Department of Family Medicine; University of Iowa College of Medicine; Iowa City, IA. Dr. Hartz also serves as Research Director for the Department of Family Medicine. His research interests include validity of observational studies, standard of care in medical malpractice, fatigue and other unexplained symptoms, quality assessment, and the peer review process.

Leonard Jason, Ph.D.; Director, Center for Community Research; DePaul University; Chicago, IL. Dr. Jason is a professor of psychology. He is engaged in CFS study on adolescents with a team of researchers at DePaul University. Dr. Jason also currently serves as vice president of the International Association for Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (IACFS). The IACFS was formerly named the American Association for Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (AACFS); the organization changed its name in 1995. IACFS is a non-profit organization of research scientists, physicians, other health care professionals, and individuals and institutes that works to promote, stimulate, and coordinate an exchange of ideas related to CFS and fibromyalgia research, patient care, and treatment.

Nancy Klimas, M.D.; Professor of Medicine, University of Miami School of Medicine; Miami, FL. Dr. Klimas is a noted immunologist. She operates a CFS clinic that serves patients in southern Florida and other parts of the country. Dr. Klimas has provided leadership in building the CFS research field and in educating clinicians on how to provide better care to their CFS patients. She also currently serves as president of the IACFS.

Christopher Snell, Ph.D.; Professor, Department of Sport Sciences; University of the Pacific; Stockton, CA. Dr. Snell has written several research publications on CFS and has given many lectures on the subject. His research focuses on the function aspects of CFS, particularly as they relate to qualify of life issues. Dr. Snell presently leads a team of investigators using exercise testing to evaluate physiological and cognitive functioning in CFIDS patients, with particular attention being given to metabolic processes and immune function.

The qualifications of the current membership were reviewed to identify a candidate to nominate for the vacant Chair position. Based on this review, it was recommended to the Secretary that Dr. James Oleske be appointed to assume responsibility as the Committee Chair. Dr. Oleske has been appointed by the Secretary to serve as the Committee Chair.

Dr. Oleske was appointed to serve as a member of CFSAC on December 1, 2005. He currently is serving a three-year term on the Committee; his appointment is scheduled to end on December 1, 2008. Following is a brief description of Dr. Oleske’s qualifications to assume the leadership position for CFSAC.

James M. Oleske, MD, MPH, CIP; Director, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Immunology and Infectious Diseases; University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, New Jersey Medical School; Newark, NJ. Dr. Oleske is highly respected as a specialist in the area of pediatric immunology and infectious diseases. Dr. Oleske also has been appointed as the Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Professor of Pediatrics at the UMDNJ/NJMS. He has worked extensively and conducted diversified research in the declared discipline areas. Dr. Oleske also serves as Medical Director of the Circle of Life Foundation that provides palliative care for children and adolescents with chronic diseases. He has dedicated his time and efforts to advocate for children and adolescents who suffer with chronic life limiting diseases, such as CFS.