Skip Navigation
  • Text Size: A A A
  • Print
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Tweet
  • Share

HHS Leadership

Departmental leaders are among the most qualified public servants in the Federal Government and are dedicated to ensuring the guidance and management necessary to support the health and well-being of the nation. Below is our list of leadership positions with links to their biographies in three sections:

Office of the Secretary Leaders

Sylvia M. BurwellSylvia M. Burwell
HHS Secretary
Bill Corr Bill Corr
HHS Deputy Secretary
E.J. Holland, Jr.E.J. Holland, Jr.
Assistant Secretary for Administration
Ellen MurrayEllen Murray
Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources
Jimmy Kolker Jimmy Kolker
Assistant Secretary of Global Affairs
Howard K. Koh, M.D., M.P.H.Howard K. Koh, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Secretary for Health
Jim Esquea Jim Esquea
Assistant Secretary for Legislation
Richard G. FrankRichard G. Frank
Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
Nicole Lurie, M.D., M.S.P.H. Nicole Lurie, M.D., M.S.P.H.
Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
Dori Salcido Dori Salcido
Acting Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs
Andrea Palm Andrea Palm
Chief of Staff (COS
Rima Cohen Rima Cohen
Counselor to the Secretary for Health Policy
Leslie DachLeslie Dach
Senior Counselor to the Secretary
C’Reda J. Weeden C’Reda J. Weeden
Executive Secretary
The Honorable Constance B. TobiasThe Honorable Constance B. Tobias
Departmental Appeals Board Chair
Leon Rodriquez Leon Rodriquez
Office for Civil Rights Director
Acacia SalattiAcacia Salatti
Partnership Center Director
William B. SchultzWilliam B. Schultz
General Counsel
Daniel R. Levinson Daniel R. Levinson
Inspector General
Paul T. Dioguardi Paul T. Dioguardi
Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs Director
Nancy Griswold Nancy Griswold
Office of Medicare Hearings and Appeals, Chief Administrative Law Judge
Karen B. DeSalvo Karen B. DeSalvo
National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
Rear Admiral (RADM) Boris D. Lushniak, M.D., M.P.H. Rear Admiral (RADM) Boris D. Lushniak, M.D., M.P.H.
Acting Surgeon General

Back to top

Operating Division Leaders


Mark Greenberg Mark Greenberg
Administration for Children and Families Acting Assistant Secretary

Other ACF Leaders

Kathy Greenlee Kathy Greenlee
Administration for Community Living Administrator
Richard Kronick, Ph.D Richard Kronick, Ph.D
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Director
Thomas Frieden Thomas Frieden
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Director

Marilyn B. TavennerMarilyn B. Tavenner
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Administrator

Other CMS Leaders


Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D. Margaret A. Hamburg, M.D.
Food and Drug Administration Commissioner

Other FDA Leaders


Mary K. Wakefield, Ph.D., R.N.Mary K. Wakefield, Ph.D., R.N.
Administrator of Health Resources and Services Administration

Other HRSA Leaders

Dr. Yvette Roubideaux Dr. Yvette Roubideaux
Indian Health Services Director

Other IHS Leaders


Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
National Institutes of Health Director

Other NIH Leaders


Pamela S. Hyde, J.D.Pamela S. Hyde, J.D.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Administrator

Other SAMHSA Leadership


Back to top

HHS Regional Leaders

Christie Hager Christie Hager
Region I Director

Jaime Torres Jaime Torres
Region II Director
Joanne Grossi Joanne Grossi
Region III Director
Dr. Pamela Roshell Dr. Pamela Roshell
Region IV Director
Kathleen Falk Kathleen Falk
Region V Director

Marjorie McColl PettyMarjorie McColl Petty
Region IV Director

Stephene Moore Stephene Moore
Region VII Director
Kim Gillan Kim Gillan
Region VIII Director

Herb K. Schultz Herb K. Schultz
Region IX Director
Susan M.R. Johnson Susan M.R. Johnson
Region X Director


Back to top

Content created by Immediate Office of the Secretary
Content last reviewed on July 23, 2014